List of Important Commissions and Committees

List of Important Commissions and Committees

  • Constitutional Review Committee : Headed by Justice MN Venkitachellaiah formed by the BJP Government to review the Constitution which is 50 years old.
  • Balwant Rai Mehta Committee : Introduction of Panchayati Raj institutions in the country.
  • Sen Committee : Report relates to decentralisation of powers to Panchayati Raj Institutions in Kerala.
  • Mandal Commission : Recommended 27% reservation for other Backward Classes (OBC) in Central Government Service.
  • Saikia Committee : Considered the proposal to make free and compulsory education a Fundamental Right.
  • Dinesh Goswami Committee : Studied about Electoral reforms.
  • Indrajith Gupta Committee : Recommended State funding of elections.
  • Ram Niwas Mirdha : Headed the Joint Parliamentary Committee which enquired into security scam.
  • Vohra Committee : Studied about nexus between criminals and politicians in India.
  • Justice Ram Nandan Prasad Committee : Set up to identify the creamy layer i.e., the socially and economically advanced sections among socially and economically backward classes.
  • KK Narendran Committee : Set up to identify the creamy layer in Kerala.
  • Ashok Mehta Committee : Apointed in 1977 to review the working of Panchayati Raj Institutions.
  • Swaran Singh Committee : Setup in 1976 by Congress Party to make recommendation about fundamental duties.
  • GVK Rao Committee : Setup in 1985 by Planning Commission on Administrative Arrangement for Rural Development and Poverty Alleviation Programmes.
  • LM Singhvi Committee : Setup in 1986 by the Rajiv Gandhi Government for revitalisation of Panchayati Raj institutions for democracy and development.
  • Dhar Committee : Setup in 1948 by the Government of India for examining the feasibility of setting provinces on linguistic basis.
  • Fazl Ali Commission : appointed in 1953 by Government of India for examining the feasibility of setting states on linguistics basis.
  • RS Sarkaria Commission : Studied centre-state relations.
  • Punchii Commission on Centre-State Ties : After Sarkaria Commission Punchii Commission was set up to study centre-state relations. The commission had submitted the report and its under consideration.
  • Nanavati Commission : Set up in 2000 to investigate the 1984 antisikh riots.
  • Nanavati Shah Commission : set up in 2002 to probe the Godhra train burning incident and the post Godhra carnage, 2002.
  • Sivaramakrishnan Committee : to suggest the place to built the capital city of Andhra Pradesh.
  • Sam Pitroda Committee : Set up in 2013 to review the institutional framework of Prasar Bharati.
  • High Powered Committee : chaired by Justice (Retd) Bilal Nazaki was set up in 2013 to review the functioning of the Haj Committee of India.
  • Independent High Level committee headed by KK Mehrotra : constituted on 20 Jun 2014 to inquire into the incident of gas leakage in Bhilai Steel Plant in Chattisgarh on 21 June 2014.
  • Justice Mukul Mudgal Committee : Constituted on October 2013 to probe into the Indian Premier League spot-fixing and betting controversy.
  • JS Mathur Committee : Constituted on Jun 2013 to review the rate revision of the newspaper advertisement.
  • SK Srivastava Committee : Constituted on March 2013 to formulate a policy on public private partnership framework with state owned Coal India Ltd as one of the partner to increase coal output.
  • Justice Verma Committee : Constituted on December 2012 to recommend amendments to the criminal law so as to provide for quicker trial and enhanced punishment for criminals accused of committing sexual assault against women.
  • Bajpai Committee : 2014 was constituted to review the investment guidelines for National Pension System (NPS) scheme in private sector.
  • Vishwanathan Committee : Consituted on 20 October 2014 to provide Bankruptcy code for small and medium enterprises (SMEs). The committee is headed by former Loksabha Secretary General and former law secretary TK Vishwanathan.
  • Ramanujan Committee : set up on 27 August 2014 to identify the laws which they believed hamper governance by creating avoidable confusion. It is chaired by R Ramanujam, Secretary in the PMO.
  • Suresh Prabhu Committee : set up on 24 July 2014 to review the gas pricing formula.
Download Free Study Material PDF for Kerala PSC page requires your suggestion for inclusion of new topics so feel free to use our comment section. Please visit our facebook page for Kerala psc news results, notifications, answer keys, current affairs, question papers and Daily mock tests or join our WhatsApp Group.

List of Important Commissions and Committees List of Important Commissions and Committees Reviewed by Unknown on 11:09 AM Rating: 5

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.