Kerala PSC - Districts of Kerala - Thrissur

Kerala PSC - Districts of Kerala - Thrissur

Year of formation : 1949, July 1

  • Thrissur town was made a Corporation in 2000.
  • Smallest corporation
  • Corporation with the lowest population.
  • Thrissur is the only one corporation in Kerala which has no coastal area.
  • First Medical University in Kerala is established at Thrissur.
  • Thrissur is the cultural capital of Kerala.
  • Thrissur was a part of former Cochin kingdom.
  • The famous 'Thrissur Pooram' held in connection with the festival of Vadakkumnathan temple attracts large number of people.
  • Thrissur is the headquarters of KILA, Kerala Sahitya Academy, Kerala Lalithakala Academy, Kerala Sangeeta Nataka Academy and Kerala Scheduled Caste - Scheduled Tribe Development Corporation.
  • Panchayat with the highest sex ratio in the state : Orumanayur, Thrissur District
  • First legal literate village in Kerala : Ollukkara, is in Thrissur District.
  • St. Thomas Church at Kodungallur, the first Christian Church in Kerala and Cheraman Perumal Mosque at kodungallur, the first mosque in Kerala are in Thrissur district.
  • Appan Tamburan monument is located at Ayyanthol.
  • Athirapilly, Vazhachal waterfalls are in Thrissur district.
  • Ancient port Musiris is there.
  • Puthanpalli the highest Christian church in Asia is located at Thrissur.
  • Forest Research Institute is in Peechi.
  • Famous Temples ; Guruvayur Vishnu temple, Vadakkumnathan, Paramekavu, Koodal Manikka temple at Iringalakuda.

Post a Comment