Kerala PSC - Indian States (Karnataka)

Kerala PSC - Indian States (Karnataka)

Karnataka is a state in south western region of India. It was formed on 1 November 1956, with the passage of the States Reorganisation Act. Originally known as the State of Mysore, it was renamed Karnataka in 1973.
  • Year of formation : 1956, November 1 
  • Capital : Bangalore (Bengaluru) 
  •  Largest City : Bangalore 
  • Region : North India 
  •  Districts : 30 
  •  Area : 191,791 km2 (74,051 sq mi) 
  •  Area rank in India : 7th


  • Governor : Vajubhai Vala 
  • Chief Minister : Siddaramaiah 
  •  Legislature : Bicameral (224 + 75 seats) 
  • High Court : Karnataka High Court 
  • Official language(s) : Kannada

State Symbols

  • Emblem - Gandaberunda 
  • Language - Kannada 
  • Song - Jaya Bharata Jananiya Tanujate 
  • Dance - Yakshagana 
  • Animal - Asian elephant 
  • Bird - Indian Roller 
  • Flower - Lotus 
  • Tree - Sandalwood

Important points about Bihar

  • The New name of Bangalore is Bengaluru.
  • The old name of Karnataka is Mysore.
  • Bengaluru is known as the Silicon Valley of India, Garden City, Electronic city and 'Pensioners Paradise'.
  • Karnataka is the leading producer of Sandal wood, Coffee, Ragi and Silk in India.
  • Kolar gold mines are located here.
  • Chinnaswamy Cricket Stadium is in Bengaluru.
  • Institute of Aviation Medicines, Indian Institute of Sciences, Indian Institute of Astrophysics are in Bengaluru.
  • Dasahra is the state festival and Yakshagana is the dance form of Karnataka.
  • Gersoppa (Jog) water falls of Karnataka in river Sharavati is the highest waterfall in India.
  • Karnataka is the State having the single largest Anglo-Indian population.
  • Bandipur National Park is in Karnataka.
  • Jain Pilgrim centre is at Sravanabelagola where the 18m long statue of Gomateswara, the highest in India is in Karnataka.
  • Major river : Krishna, Kaveri, Tungabhadra
  • Kaveri takes its origin from Coorg hills.
  • Srirangapatanam near Mysore was the capital of Tipu and Hyder Ali.
  • The 5th nuclear power project in India - Kaiga and the 3rd Naval Base in India - Sea Bird at Karwar are in Karnataka.
  • Hampi, the capital of Vijayanagar kingdom is in Karnataka.
  • The Gold mines in Karnataka are Kolar and Hutty.
  • Mangaluru is the major port.
  • Viswesharaya Iron and Stell Project is in Shimoga district.
  • Karnataka accounts for 59% of the country's coffee production and 47% of ragi.
  • Karnataka accounts for the 86% of the raw silk produced in the country.
  • Hampi and Pattadakal in Karnataka are declared as the world heritage sites.
  • The first Indian city to host SAARC Summit Bengaluru.
  • India's first cyber police station was setup at Bangaluru.
  • Sivasamudram Project, India's first Hydro Electric Project was commissioned in 1902, on the river Cauveri.
  • Krishna Raja Sagar dam is built on the river Cauveri and Almatti Dam on river Krishna.
  • Mysore is known as 'Cultural Capital of Karnataka'.
  • The headquarters of south western Railway is at Hubly.

Post a Comment